Professional Reviews

 

TECHNICAL WRITING REVIEWS

 

"There are some technical writers out there who elevate their profession to the level of a polished craft, making it their calling, and James Neiman is one of them. He brings many skills to the table, drawing on strong abilities in several areas, including, but not limited to: a software developer's understanding of APIs, a programmer's ability to read and write code, a command of English language and grammar worthy of a language professor, the ability to communicate in several languages, and, in some ways most importantly, a keen eye for spotting ways to improve or add new features to documentation. Besides contributing technical and writing skills, he has excellent soft skills, communicating information with technical writers, developers, and product managers efficiently, and describing information concisely and clearly in his writing. I highly recommend James Neiman, and would be thrilled to work with him on any team or project."

 

April 9, 2017

Paul Cernea, Software Developer, Global Knowledge Solutions, Ooyala

________________________

 

"Anyone who works directly with customers - and specifically their technical and operational teams - appreciates the importance of good documentation. Good documentation is critical for sharing information about products and services that are by nature feature rich and intricate in design. Good documentation is well organized, accurate, complete, and easy to read by the target audience. It is from this perspective that I highly recommend James Neiman. Why? Because he gets it and because he has a passion for doing it the right way.

 

I have had the pleasure of working with James at Ooyala. On several occasions he and I have reviewed documentation (not his) that was not up to par and that for whatever reason did not work. James always understood and appreciated the situation and then set out to fix things. The results were often quite amazing. On one occasion I pointed him to a particularly poorly written article, and he basically rewrote the whole thing from scratch. It was a dramatic improvement! One more thing to point out is that James is not afraid to roll up his sleeves and go hands on to validate technical details. If necessary he will pull in engineering to make sure that everything is correct. Needless to say, as someone working directly with the customer, I really appreciated this!

 

All in all I highly recommend James. I would welcome any opportunity to work with him again."

 

April 3, 2017

Dan Deweese van Schoonefeld, Onboarding Specialist and Project Manager, Ooyala

________________________

 

"I hired James Neiman as a Senior Technical Writing contractor to deliver on a variety of developer documentation projects including mobile SDKs, Content Management Systems, and Content Protection. James juggled multiple projects and delivered developer documentation and API Reference materials on time and as needed. He was always ready to tackle any project."

 

March 27, 2017

Cheryl Solis, Director, Global Knowledge Solutions, Ooyala

________________________

 

“Technical Writers are the product marketers of a platform business. They have to be able to convey complex concepts to a variety of audiences, and do it in a way that's structured, discoverable, and delights the developer. James is a master of this balance. At TokBox, he's been working on our Accelerator Pack documentation taking abstractions we've built on top of our Platform, and making them accessible to a technical audience who wants to move fast and be right the first time. He's done this by putting himself in the shoes of that developer. Always starting from the ground up. Asking questions that seem obvious, but are often skipped over in the rush to launch. *Our Accelerator Pack products are young. But I have no doubt that they will be a huge success aided by the fact that James will make the documentation structured, discoverable, and an absolute delight for developers.”

 

May 9, 2016

Melih Onvural, Director of Product Management, TokBox

________________________

 

“James worked with my team as a technical writer consultant. We brought him onboard during a very crucial time when we were building a new set of highly developer friendly products. James joined the team and started delivering projects right away. In spite of being fairly new to the organization, he quickly ramped-up and understood our product architecture, business goals and developer personas quite well. The first open source projects that he delivered became one of our most forked and starred project in Github. It was a big success for the new product line that we were building. He worked well with all cross functional teams, especially our engineering team. It’s a pleasure to work with James and I look forward to work with him in future.”

 

May 11, 2016

Meeta Dash, Product Management, TokBox

________________________

 

“It has been such a pleasure having James on my team over the past year. Not only is he brilliant in technology and writing, he is also very easy to work with. He is independent, conscientious, and adds value beyond what is expected of him. Whatever I asked James to do he was up to the challenge and did it with a positive attitude. I could always have faith that James would create exemplary work and be an outstanding member of the team. I give him my highest recommendation.”

 

August 29, 2014

Fawn Damitio, Senior iX Manager, Juniper Networks

________________________

 

“When we lost a technical writer during the crucial stretch of a release, James stepped in to save the day. In quick succession, James familiarized himself with our JavaScript, iOS, and Android SDKs, set up the dev environments to run the APIs, and edited the Javadoc, JSDoc and appledoc. He then worked closely with the developers to update the manuals for the SDKs. James quickly got up to speed with our tools and processes without any handholding, wasted no time, and was extremely professional in building relationships within our teams. It was a great pleasure to work with James. He is a writer who gets the job done with great accuracy and acumen, and on time. I highly recommend him to anyone who needs a skilled writer on their team to do the near impossible.”

 

July 2, 2014

Dani Ebskamp-Franke, Senior Technical Writer, Magnet Systems

________________________

 

Thank you for providing outstanding services with a can-do attitude that made it very easy for everyone to connect with you very quickly, and last but not least for delivering on all your commitments on time and with a smile. You had very little time to come up to speed and managed to get your arms around the assigned set of documents in no time and produced very meaningful improvements to every document that you touched.”

 

July 18, 2014

Achim Zippel, Director Mobile Applications at Magnet Systems, Inc.

________________________

 

“James worked on content for a developer project for my team at Cisco Systems. James brought a strong conceptual understanding of developer needs to his work. He produced quality content in a very timely manner, and he was always willing to take on more work. His specialization with developer content is pretty rare and his work definitely contributed to the success of our product.”

 

September 13, 2013

Paul Zimmerman, Manager, Developer Content at Cisco Systems

________________________

 

“I had the pleasure of working with James on CPU compiler documentation for Playstation platforms. His ability to master technically demanding material and present it in a clear and concise manner is exceptional. He is equally adept in documenting all domains of the compiler/toolchain, from front-end languages features to gritty ISA details and everything in between. James excels at working closely with engineers and adapting to the workflow of the team and project. James brings a wealth of experience, knowledge, and enthusiasm to the table which he leverages to create exceptional documentation. Working with him has been a rewarding experience; I highly recommend James!”

 

August 2, 2013

Josh Magee, Senior Compiler Engineer, Sony Computer Entertainment America

________________________

 

“James produces high-quality technical documentation. His work on developer documentation for a mobile device platform was superb in every respect, from his interactions with the developers, to his creation of code samples. James is very capable and I recommend him for any technical or writing position that requires detailed understanding and technical skills.”

 

December 1, 2011

Alex Prazma, Senior Technical Writer, Sybase (an SAP company)

________________________

 

“I have had the pleasure of working on multiple projects with James. He is a top notch contributor who has the rare ability to explain complex programming features in a clear and concise manner. Most programmers chose to write code, but James has chosen to write code and teach others the proper methodology to use the software and its features. He is an excellent teacher, programmer and a great person to have on a team. I am confident recommending James to other employers and assure you he will impress you as he did with us.”

 

November 30, 2011

Tyler Rushton, Community Help and Learning Manager, Adobe Systems Inc.

________________________

 

“I have had the pleasure of working with James during the past seven years at Adobe. I worked with James when he led projects and more recently, when I led this year's projects related to the Adobe Developer Experience Platform. I can say that James is a strong asset to any organization. He completes his tasks on time and his quality is great. James is also very technical and understands a range of programming languages and technologies. I would highly recommend James to any organization!”

 

November 21, 2011

Scott MacDonald, Lead Technical Writer, Adobe Systems Inc.

________________________

 

“I hired James to work on a couple of projects that initially seemed easy and straightforward, but quickly turned into high-profile projects with extremely aggressive deadlines. James was incredibly responsive and calm throughout the storm. He was instrumental in helping us meet critical deadlines and proved to be an excellent team player!”

 

July 11, 2011

Anita Davey, Senior Manager, Technical Documentation, PayPal

________________________

 

“As Acrobat SDK Development Manager, I worked with James for several years through multiple major and minor releases of the Acrobat SDK documentation set and the PDF 1.x Specification (now ISO 32000). As a Technical Writer, James is professional, knowledgeable, and well organized. As a Technical Project Lead, James is very thorough, good at planning ahead to work on parallel projects with multiple client teams, and always kept his client teams appropriately updated on project status and potential conflicts that could impact content delivery. He is an excellent communicator who does a great job of seeking out feedback on his work and incorporating it into the final product. It was a pleasure to work with James on the Acrobat SDK and PDF developer documentation and I would love the opportunity to work with him again!”

 

January 5, 2010

Sandra (Lee) Doersam, Manager, Engineering, Adobe Systems Inc.

________________________

 

“James was responsible for portions of the documentation for the Rights Management product that I developed and managed. James was wonderful to work with and I was uniformly impressed by his work. He is highly technical, is very thorough in his work and does a great job of seeking out feedback on his work and incorporating it into the final product.”

 

December 8, 2009

Bill Shapiro, Engineering Manager, LiveCycle Rights Management, Adobe Systems, Inc.

________________________

 

“As a developer on the Acrobat SDK Team, I worked with James and his team through multiple releases of SDK documentation over several years. James is extremely professional, consistently working pleasantly and efficiently with several teams in parallel. He communicated appropriately about documentation assignments and reviews and always kept himself current on feature and schedule updates. James implemented new processes for document submission, review and format that greatly improved both our interaction with his team and the finished product. It was great having James working on the SDK!”

 

December 4, 2009

Charlene Land, Computer Scientist, Adobe Systems, Inc.

________________________

 

“James and I worked closely for 5 years. During that time, James was a very strong co-worker and always helped out when asked to do so. James is very strong from a technical perspective and is very good at creating programming/technical documentation and other content. James will be an asset to a future team that is fortunate to have him part of the team. I will miss James as a colleague.”

 

December 2, 2009

Scott MacDonald, Senior Technical Writer, Adobe Systems Inc.

________________________

 

“I worked with James on several occasions for Acrobat SDK documentation. James constantly came up with great documents that helped third-party developers gain better understanding of how Acrobat and Acrobat SDK worked. Particularly once James was assigned to write PRC SDK API reference within a very short period of time. As we talked, I was impressed that he had a really good understanding of PRC file format, PRC library classes and sample code we provided. Shortly after, he showed me an AIR application he developed that comprehensively presented how the PRC library classes were related to each other, the APIs each class had, and some sample code for APIs. I was amazed how James could finish the API reference in such a creative way. In short, James is a top-notch technical writer who I would really love to have the opportunity to work with again.”

 

November 15, 2009

Lijie Yu, Computer Scientist, Adobe Systems

________________________

 

“James is an invaluable asset. He researches extensively, through hands-on inquiry, stakeholder interviews, aligning complex systems to make quantitative comparisons. His extensive research led to a company-wide consolidation under a single group, which he then led. His technical advisement allowed us to adopt a roadmap with interim and future plans that focused on where we wanted to be as well as what we could do immediately. His pleasant, professional reputation proceeds him wherever he goes. It was an honor to work with James, a truly brilliant human being!”

 

November 13, 2009

JuLee Burdekin, Senior Manager, Developer Content Experience, Adobe Systems Inc.

________________________

 

“James and I worked together on porting documentation for mobile devices. As an API writer, James brought strong technical knowledge and excellent writing skills to the table. He is also a pleasant and responsive coworker.

 

November 12, 2009

Richard Whitley, Senior Technical Writer, Adobe Systems Inc.

________________________

 

“I worked with James on the design and implementation of an XML based publishing solution for the Acrobat SDK. James was a seasoned technical writer with a deep understanding of programming languages and software architecture. A gentleman and a true professional, it was a pleasure to work with him.”

 

November 10, 2009

Punyanjan Sen, Senior Engineering Manager, Adobe Systems Inc.

________________________

 

“I have had the pleasure of working with James for six years now. What can I say? He knows everything. I, an ActionScript-, Java- and C#-challenged wordsmith, relied on him to lead me to the truth in matters technical. He did so with so much grace, never putting me down for my ignorance. To my irritation, he bested me on my own turf--grammar. If you hire him, consider yourself lucky.

 

November, 10, 2009

Antonio Padial, Senior Developmental Editor, Learning Resources, Adobe Systems, Inc.

 

EDUCATION REVIEWS

 

"Without hesitation, Dr. James Neiman receives my highest recommendation. Dr. Neiman served as my dissertation committee chair. Dr. Neiman is a tremendously gifted individual in academia who can explain complex technical applications and concepts in understandable terms. After earning my Ph.D., I have had the opportunity to work with Dr. Neiman on several different dissertation committees as a colleague for the past several years. Dr. Neiman has a tremendous amount of respect for his learners and colleagues he works with. Dr. Neiman's knowledge and guidance mirrors his personality as an individual. Dr. Neiman's character is a testament as to why he is a tremendous educator. Dr. Neiman reflects many of the key qualities needed in higher level education, however; Dr. Neiman's character defines him as an individual. Dr. Neiman's character is truly remarkable, a patient individual that really knows how to challenge learners so that the learner may recognize their full potential. Dr. Neiman made a comment to me while I was working on my dissertation, Dr. Neiman told me that "this process will transform you". At the time, I didn't fully understand what Dr. Neiman meant, but after I completed my dissertation I completely understood. Dr. Neiman not only helped shape me and obtain a higher level in academia, but as an individual. It has been and is a privilege to work with Dr. Neiman as a learner, candidate, and colleague."

 

October 15, 2010

Kirby Scheer, Ph.D., President, Yeahbay, Inc.

________________________

 

“As a member of my committee and advisor in my doctoral studies Dr. Neiman was very enjoyable. He establishes rapport easily with students and fellow professors. He has succeeded in creating enthusiasm among his students, challenging them to think independently. His sense of humor and easy-going personality while maintaining a passion for his subject material has been much appreciated.”

 

November 22, 2009

Nelda S. Nagy, Ph. D., Payload Integration Manager, International Space Station

________________________

 

“I have had the pleasure to have Dr. Neiman as a mentor at Northcentral University. He provided significant inspiration and encouragement to me during that time, including providing some key feedback that inspired me to pursue what has become my dissertation focus. I encourage learners and educational organizations alike to seriously consider Dr. Neiman as a faculty member. He is one of the very best in my experience.”

 

December 30, 2009

Arthur Smith, Student, Northcentral University

________________________

 

“It is a pleasure to recommend Dr. James Neiman. For the past three years he has been my Dissertation Committee Chairman. He has been a fine mentor who understands the challenges and frustrations I faced as a PhD candidate. He is unfailingly insightful, encouraging and kind in his guidance and has become very much a friend as well as a respected academic leader. I am quite sure that he will bring these same strengths to whatever endeavor he undertakes.”

 

December 8, 2009

John Czerwinski, Student, Northcentral University

________________________

 

“In every interaction with Dr. Neiman I found him to be intelligent, articulate, personable and helpful. He never failed to impress me and I would bet on him in any endeavor he pursues.”

 

November 15, 2009

Bert Woodall, Web Copywriter, Northcentral University

________________________

 

“James Neiman took over as the chair of my dissertation committee after a series of unsuccessful predecessors. He expertly assessed my concept paper and recommended a series of changes to strengthen the paper. Dr. Neiman also worked closely with the Dean, other faculty and administrators at NCU to get my research project through an important milestone within a very suspenseful process. I highly recommend James as an expert writer, editor and team player

skilled in achieving successful projects within very demanding time constraints.”

 

November 12, 2009

Top qualities: Great Results, Personable, Expert Larry Chandler

________________________

 

“James is an outstanding professor. He is meticulous in his preparation of work and an expert scholar in his field. James also is easy to work with as a colleague because he meets all standards set by the university.”

 

November 12, 2009

John House, Lead Mentor Homeland Security, Northcentral University

________________________

 

“James served on my dissertation committee for my doctorate through Northcentral University in MIS. He was thorough in his review of my work, suggested some enhancements to my writing and assisted me in navigating the rigorous stages of the dissertation process. I found him to be a caring and supportive mentor, as well as very knowledgeable in his subject areas.”

 

November 11, 2009

Anne Marie Smith, Principal Consultant, Alabama Yankee Systems, LLC

________________________

 

“Dr. James Neiman was my dissertation chair, which gave me an unusual opportunity to evaluate both his knowledge and his character. Both are truly outstanding. He successfully balanced demands for superior quality with equal measures of guidance and support - a rare combination. He is an individual who can definitely get the job done, and I'm more than pleased to give him my very highest recommendation.”

 

November 10, 2009

Stephen M. Schneider, Ph.D. , Student , Northcentral University

________________________

 

“Dr. Neiman and I have worked together for about three years where he advised me on my Ph.D. dissertation work related to SOA and Web Services performance. He is very prompt, proactive, thorough, and spared no efforts to help me reach perfection in every way possible. It was a very pleasant and rewarding journey where all his feedback was very constructive, his attitude was very positive, and his insights and leaderships were very invaluable to me. I would love to work with him again at any capacity and I am sure he would be a great asset to any organization that can have him.”

 

December 2, 2009

Ashraf Abdulhadi, Ph.D. , Student , Northcentral University

________________________

 

“James has demonstrated leading edge SW development knowledge, is driven to excel in his areas of research interests, and delights in sharing his knowledge with his colleagues and students.”

 

November 14, 2009

Top qualities: Expert, Creative Al Endres, Dean, School of Business and Technology, Northcentral University

________________________

 

“I have known Dr. James Neiman for several years. While serving at Northcentral University (NCU), James was on the business faculty. He also served in a consulting capacity. Over the course of time that he and I were at NCU, he held varying positions of responsibility within the business school. James is a highly intelligent person, who possess not only the academic knowledge of his discipline but possesses the ability to teach and share that knowledge. James is a professional who knows what it means to make a commitment and keep that commitment. His approach is straightforward, honest and ethical. I would recommend James without hesitation.”

 

November 11, 2009

Claudia Santin, President and Provost, Northcentral University

________________________

 

“Dr. Neiman was the chair of my doctoral dissertation committee and my mentor at Northcentral University. He was an outstanding professor. He was always very helpful, supportive, very knowledgeable, and very professional. He is also an excellent scholar. I would highly recommend Dr. Neiman. He would be a valuable asset to any organization.”

 

November 10, 2009

Joe Ganczarski, Ph.D. , Student , Northcentral University

_______________________

 

James is an outstanding scholar and a colleague; easy to get along with; respectful and respectworthy teammate. My colleagues in the Business School also think well of him and are highly supportive of all tasks and endeavors undertaken by him. My support is, of course, unconditional and without any reservations.”

 

November 10, 2009

Daljit Singh, Professor of International Business and Lead Mentor, Northcentral University

© 2017. All Rights Reserved

James Neiman Consulting, Inc.